Home > Diaspora News, Regional, Sports > Cricket: An overview of the inaugural Caribbean T20 2010

Cricket: An overview of the inaugural Caribbean T20 2010

by Darrell Victor

GEORGETOWN -The Caribbean T20 tournament replaced the Stanford T20 as the Caribbean’s premier Twenty20 tournament. Since Texan billionaire Allen Stanford got into legal difficulties, the West Indies Cricket Board contemplated a replacement event. Given the financial constraints of the board, the Caribbean T20 is much shorter and has fewer teams.

In the inaugural event, there are eight teams. The winner of the competition would be decided after nine days and fifteen matches. Trinidad and Tobago and Barbados are joint hosts of this event, with the opening match and opening two rounds being played in Barbados. Trinidad and Tobago would host the final round of the zone games, the semi-finals and the grand final. Barbados hosts all their games at the Kensington Oval, while the Queen’s Park Oval in Trinidad hosts all the fixtures scheduled for Trinidad.

Unlike the Stanford T20, there are only the traditional West Indies territories, a Combined Campuses and Colleges (CCC) team and the Canadian national team. Trinidad and Tobago, Barbados, Jamaica, Guyana, Windward Islands and Leeward Islands are the other teams involved. Given the constraints, individual island teams could not be fielded in this tournament.

The eight teams play on a round robin basis in two groups of four. Trinidad and Tobago, Jamaica, Canada and Leeward Islands comprise Zone A, while Barbados, Guyana, Windward Islands and CCC comprise Zone B. The top two teams from each group qualify for the semi-finals; the winner of one zone would play the runner-up of the other zone.

Trinidad and Tobago are the most consistent T20 side in the Caribbean. They qualified for both Stanford T20 finals (2006 and 2008) and won the 2008 tournament. The twin-island republic appeared in the Stanford Super Series, where they beat English champions Middlesex and narrowly lost to a star-studded England side. T&T went on to represent the region in the inaugural Champions League T20 competition in 2009, where they beat the likes of Deccan Chargers, Sussex and New South Wales on their way to the final. Playing against New South Wales for a second time, Brett Lee’s heroics denied them the title.

Jamaica and Guyana are good contenders, with both teams having lots of experience in their squad. Barbados has an outside chance, but they never reached the final of a T20 event before. Perennial underdogs Leeward Islands and Windward Islands seem to make up numbers, but they might be able to spring some surprises in an unpredictable format such as T20. The winner of this event qualifies for the 2010 Champions League.

Categories: Diaspora News, Regional, Sports
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: